Toxia – mutant rollerskater


(Vikki)

カラフルなものを背負った人の訪問を受けました。

//////IC//////


(me, Vikki)

[17:57] Victoria Afterthought looks up and waves at the silvery looking woman. “HIIIIIII!”
[17:58] Meg Ronmark hears an yelling voice from down below, looks down.
[17:59] Meg Ronmark shouts back. “Hi.”

夕暮れ時のToxia。工場の大窓の外側に立ちぼんやりHavenの方角を眺めていると、下からテンションの高い女性の声が聞こえてきました。見るとミュータントなのか、何本もの触手を背中に抱えた女性がこちらを見上げて手を振っています。
私は飛び降りて彼女の前に降り立ちました。

敵意を持っての訪問者ではないようです。なぜここにいるのかと問われたので工場はContinuumの家であることを話すと今度はどういった者がここに集まり住んでいるのかという問いが来ました。街に来てまだ間もないようです。
Continuumの成り立ちとどのようなメンバーが居るかを彼女に話します。アンドロイド、サイボーグ、強化人間にロボット、テクノロジーを信奉しまたそれに助けられ生きる者が集っていると告げると、彼女は興奮気味に何度も頷きました。
『クールね!ここでの生活は気に入っている?』
『気に入っていなければ2年も居ないと思うわ』私は答えました。


(Vikki, me)

[18:20] Victoria Afterthought smiles and nods, bowing deeply to her, “Then that is what is most important.” she hops up again and looks to her, “I’m Vikki.” she says, jutting her right hand out towards her for a shake, unfortunately all of her tentacles shoot forward too. “Damn it…” she says and bats at her tentacles, “Get back, down down!” she yells at them.
[18:23] Meg Ronmark: “Meg,” Meg Ronmark nods and slowly, cautiously extends her hand toward Vikki, “I don’t feel like shaking my hands with the tentacles today …. please keep them stay on around your back.”

『それは一番重要なことね。』女性は手をこちらに差し出してきました。『私、Vikkiよ。よろしくね』
差し出された手とともに一斉に前に向かって出てきた触手をたしなめるのに彼女は忙しそうです。
握手に関しては私は最近、不用意に見ず知らずのdemon女性と行って精気を抜かれるという嫌な経験がありました。ようやく完治しましたが暫くすぐれない気分が続いたのです。
私は注意深く、もう片方の手をこっそり何時でも攻撃態勢に移せる状態にしつつVikkiと握手を交わし、すっと手を速やかに戻しました。

暫く前、ProwlersのMaranaという子が背中に触手を持つトラブルに悩まされContinuumが問題解決の手助けをした、という出来事がありました。Vikkiに彼女の触手は生まれつきのものなのか、体調に変化は及ぼしていないのか聞くと驚いたことに彼女は『5時間前から一緒にいるの』と答えました。
ビーチで寝ていて、起きたら触手が背中に生えていたそうです。Maranaのものとは違いVikkiの触手は特に攻撃的には見えず、さまざまな色に変化するそれはむしろ装飾品のようにも見て取ることができました。


(Vikki)

[18:46] Meg Ronmark: “Five hours ago…??” Meg Ronmark stares at Vikki with a surprised expression. “And did you say it happened on the beach?! Gosh, something, toxins from seawater or such … might have changed you biologically. I think I would tell it to my family just in case.” She looks up at Vikki. “Mind….if I ask you to give me a sample of your tentacle? Just a tip of it will do.”
[18:50] Victoria Afterthought raises her eye brows, “I thought I smelled a little more like a toxicology lab than normal.” she says and nods. As Meg mentions taking a sample the tentacles thrash about slightly. She steps back shouting at them, “Down! Damn it!” she hits at them with her hands, “Ow!” the tentacles seem to calm and she keeps still looking to Meg, “Will that hurt?”

『5時間前?ビーチで?何てこと、海水の毒か…何かがあなたの体質を変えてしまったようね。私のファミリーにもこのことを話しておくわ。』ここで私の研究魂がまた頭をもたげてきました。『もし可能であれば…すこし、サンプルを採取させてもらえないかしら。沢山とは言わないわ、触手の先端、ほんの少しだけで良いのよ』

サンプル採取は痛む?と心配げにこちらを見るVikkiに『麻酔をかけるから大丈夫』と私は答えました。
それを聞いて安心した彼女。サンプル提供について快諾してもらえました。わらわらと動く触手のうち一本をしっかり掴んで捕まえ、私の目の前に持って来てくれました。
最初は注射器で麻酔を投与しようと考えていましたが、Vikkiがしっかり掴んで抑えてくれているとはいえ先のほうは常に動いています。塗り薬タイプに切り替えて触手の先全体に麻酔を塗り込みました。

[18:59] Victoria Afterthought nods anf grips the tentacle tightly. “Sure… think that’ll work just fine and good.” she says with a nod. “It feels kinda numb already.”
[19:02] Meg Ronmark nods. “Good, and now….” She holds the cutter in her hand, aiming at the tip of the tentacle. A clicking sound is heard. She carefully puts the tentacle tip into an empty vial she holds in her left hand, then closes the lid.

麻酔が効いてぐったりした触手の先を、爪切りのような小さいカッターでぱちんと切り取って小瓶の中に収めました。触手の先は瓶の中で小さく丸まっています。時々震えを見せ、その色を変化させています。外から眺める分にもとても美しいものでした。


(me, Vikki)

[19:09] Victoria Afterthought nods quickly and tilts her head, “When do ya think you’ll have some answers on tha sample I gave ya?”
[19:11] Meg Ronmark: “Depends on….” Meg Ronmark shows a slightly perplexed expression in the face. “the time, expeditiousness and effort I and my tech peole put on it. Still not sure if we could get any good information out of it but will get in touch with you once the analysis is over, for sure.”

『いつごろサンプル分析の結果はわかるのかしら?』と尋ねるVikki。尤もな質問です。
『…私達が分析にかける時間と迅速さ、努力の量によるわね。』今、分析が行えるアクティブなContinuumメンバーは余りいないので殆ど私一人で行う可能性も高そうです。有用な情報が分析結果から得られるか否か、何とも言えませんがいずれにせよ結果出次第街中で彼女を探して連絡すると約束しました。

[19:22] Victoria Afterthought nods again, “I think I can remember that pretty well.” she says and skates a few steps, “Thanks, I’ll see ya soon!”
[19:22] Meg Ronmark: “Safe path!”

ローラースケートをはいていたVikki。挨拶をすると、滑るように軽快にHavenの方向へ消えていきました。

//////ICここまで//////
今回のRP時間は約1時間半でした。

Vikkiと話をしている間Rydersの男性がしきりに『ここにもねえな..』云々つぶやきながら工場のゴミ捨て場をあさっていました。Vikkiとの話のroleplayで手一杯だった私は彼のroleplayのつぶやきにタイムリーに返答をすることができませんでしたが後からIMで彼が表現していた状況を聞くとなかなか興味深いものでした。
のちほど、時間をみつけてRydersのガレージも訪れてみようと思います。

~ by Meg Ronmark on June 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
